I love sailing!

(Post by Jody Houle)

I have to say a huge thank you to Captain Arvie Magnussen!!!  Because of his kindness and his willingness to have three strangers on his beautiful boat today, I can now say that I have gone sailing and loved every minute of it!  Captain Arvie was even brave enough to allow me to take the wheel for a little while. 

When the sails were up and the motor shut down, it was so quiet and peaceful.  We flew over the water!  The peacefulness was only occasionally interrupted by the captain’s command of “Get ready to tack” after which crew member Terje Olav would respond by quickly moving the sails.  It looked like a lot of hard work!  I had the easy job of just releasing a line.

We had a wonderful afternoon out on the water.  Our hosts were extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided all kinds of information about the history and geography of the land, pointing out landmarks such as the king’s summer home and the summer of home of one of the richest men in the world.

My trip to Norway just became very expensive as I think I now need a sailboat of my own!  It was a day that I will never forget!

(Post by Jody Houle)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

